Hot cutting a 60" Clark-Y Wing

thenated0g

Drinker of coffee, Maker of things
Mentor
I have been building foam board for a few years now and have wanted to get into hot wire cutting to work with a new material. So i setup my cameras and recorded the entire process. I am going to make a long "talky" version where i go thru what i learned etc but i wanted to make a couple quick edits for Instagram. Hope you enjoy:

20161128_162320.jpg

Last edited:

thenated0g

Mentor
Wow, i just realized i forgot to post the maiden of this...2 years later lol. I actually flew this at Flitefest West 2017. It crashed when i did a full speed pass and the control rods couldn't handle the pressure. I couldn't pull up. Damage was just a few inches of crumpled foam. no big deal. I was really impress considering this thing is Styrofoam and it was hauling buttocks. Its fixed and now has better control arms.

thenated0g

Mentor
I have been going thru old planes seeing what is flyable still and what i can get rid of. Came across this wing again, which i hadn't ever tossed as it was the first thing i had hot cut myself. In hindsight i was really wondering this weekend why i used flimsy coroplast with no reinforcements at all for the elevons. As a more experienced builder i can see now that this is why i crashed it so many times. The control horns are on the very inside of the elevons. Even if they had been in the center of them, the nature of the coro would have made them twist, but being on the one side meant i was only really getting a tiny area of elevon movement in the center of the wing, which is the least effective area anyways. So in a full speed pass they couldn't counter the wind, ie i would dive into the ground and not be able to pull up. So i decided to work with what i had on hand in the shop and give the wing one more try. Oh, and the elevons were super tiny, not deep enough even if they were stiff.

IMG_20191018_062650.jpg IMG_20191018_062645.jpg