How do I flip a Quadcopter

CameraFlyVideo

Hello, this is my first time posting. I have been flying a Turbo Ace Matrix and a QX350 using a DX8 in manual mode. Is there a way I can program my controller to get my QX350 to flip like a mini indoor quad(ya know). Or is it strictly manual rudder and aileron stick movement. Or both.
Please Help...I am getting tired of just putting around the RC Park.
Best,
Davy

makattack

Winter is coming
Mentor
Sorry, I'm fairly new to multirotors myself, but I would recommend practicing on a simulator first, if you can. Otherwise, get a couple mistakes high, and just make sure you're in manual or acro mode and try a flip on a single axis (pitch vs roll). That's how I'd do it. Just like doing acrobatics for the first time on a fixed wing airplane.

Oh, it wouldn't really be rudder control, by the way... that would be more like a "pirouette" or a spin -- you would use the pitch or roll sticks to do your flip (elevator and aileron in fixed wing terms).

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Davy,

Welcome to the forum!

The manuver is simple, but it takes a little nerve and practice (if you choke, you will crash).

- TURN OFF ANY AUTOLEVEL (you can flip in multiwii's "horizon" mode but for the first few times, you don't want it fighting you as it comes out of self level)
- make sure your rates/stick scaling are high enough to perform the manuver -- the faster you can roll/pitch, the better.
- first, get used to throttle pumps -- get into a stable hover, then punch the throttle to near full for 2-5s, and back off. descend and repeat until you feel comfortable with this

- ***when you're ready to break your quad into a million pieces*** do a throttle pump, and as you reach the top, as you back off throttle, give full hard elevator (or aileron)
-- as it rotates past 90 degrees your throttle should be down to about 1/4 -- **don't go lower!** if your ESCs shut off, you will crash.