How to make strong pushrods

Grifflyer

WWII fanatic
Sorry everything is spaced out so far this is my first time doing something like this.

Last edited:

Craftydan

Hostage Taker of Quads
Staff member
Mentor
Heatshrink and hot-glue binding two wires together . . . interesting.

Carbon fiber linkages are generally done in much the same way -- two short metal Z-bends heatshrinked and CA'ed onto the ends of a carbon fiber rod. shrink the heatshrink, slide the linkage to fit, then a drop of thin CA at each end of the heatshrink to lock it in place. The lighter CF rods are super stiff and light, but can't handle shock loads (surface hits the ground in a crash). The CA bond will generally break before the rod shatters, saving the rod in a crash. Only big downside to these is CF rod is a bit harder to source.

Hard to say if a CA joint would be much of an improvement over the hot-glue with only metal rods -- something else is more likely to break if overstressed with hot glue, but neither glue should break in normal use . . . but even music wire will bend a bit more than a CF rod would tolerate.

Interesting option to keep in a back pocket ;)

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor
I like using bbq skewers and wire too. I split the bbq skewers in half to save on weight, and then wrap sewing thread around the joint 20 or 40 times like fly tying. Then soak the thread in CA glue or hot glue. I haven't thought that would work with metal to metal joints and have resorted to solder, which can be a real pain at times. The heat shrink/glue method you have looks pretty good as an alternative.

kdobson83