I had a dream and Im building it.

Liemavick

Mentor
Seriously guys I saw this plane in a dream I had. I guess Ive had a little to much FT lately and its following me into my sleep. Long story short is im not a plane designer and what limited understanding I have on scratch building has come from FT and Josh B's designs. So here's where Im at: DSCN0025.JPG The wingspan is 60" and the fuse is 40" which seems long to me. DSCN0026.JPG The wing has a balsa and foamboard combo spar and I snaked some gold n wire through the wings for the elevators, they will attach to the servos under the wing. The tail body is actually triangle. One thing I already know is Im going to flip the tail, somehow I dont think my dream planned on landing this thing but I do. So what do you think? Will it fly? is the Fus to long? I plan on putting a small motor on the nose to give it a chance. If I had been thinking and not following my dream I would have made it a swappable :)

Brian

OutcastZeroOne

Fly, yes... Land, no
nice. do a few unpowered glides before you get too crazy with putting gear in it to get the CG right.

good luck and have fun!

Liemavick

Mentor
One thing Ive never been clear on with scratch builds and CG. Do you build your plane and find the CG before adding as much as a servo? Then work around that point while installing your motor, battery, servo's, etc...?

OutcastZeroOne

Fly, yes... Land, no
once you find your CG point from doing test glides, you have to add on your motor. once thats on its a fixed weight. I try to give as much room as posible to move the battery around on my planes to adjust the CG. Servos and motors are fixed weights. The motor you dont really have many options for where to stick it. But the servos you can play around with their final spot to try and deal with CG if its a major issue.

Ive heard of guys adding several washers as weight before too.

OutcastZeroOne

Fly, yes... Land, no