Introduction and build questions for QAV250 build

kitari

Just wanted to start by properly introducing myself. This is my first post, but I'm sure it won't be my last. I'm currently flying a DJI Phantom FC40, Cheerson CX-10, and soon hope to get started on my first quadcopter build. I've been flying quads for about a year now, and came from the world of heli flying, but once I flew my first quadcopter, I fell in love with how much easier it was to just get out and fly instead of constantly dumping money into my helis for broken parts that seemed to be a fairly common thing once I moved to 3d heli flying. I'm actually a full time student, going to school for electronics, so this build can count as a school project so that's a bonus. I've been wanting to do a build for a while now, but just never got around to it, but next month I'm finally going to do it!

So moving on, to put it in a nutshell, I'm looking for the best setup for a non FPV race quad for under $300. I don't need anything fancy like gps, pos hld, or rth, just some good fast flying. I can always use the camera from my fc40 if I want video so there's that. I also have a Devo 7 Tx/Rx so that's another bonus. So with that said, anybody have any recommendations?​

PhenomPilot

I love my zmr250 with naze32 and dys1806 motors. 2204 motors with 5040 props and 4 cell battery would be insane. You could build it for about $180. Check out quadmovr on YouTube for some insanely fast flying!

C0d3M0nk3y

Posted a thousand or more times
Welcome aboard.

Are you wanted by to build a QAV250 for under $300, or any 250 size quad? I'm asking because the QAV250 frame will use up about half of your budget.

kitari

I love his channel! Actually one of his quads was part of my motivation to do a mini race quad build. It's wicked how fast those things can go.

kitari