It never stops, does it? Foam Canadair

Fluburtur

Cardboard Boy
Flying wings are fun for a while but I wanted to "conventional" planes that peoples can somewhat recognize and a seaplane so at like 3am while I was half asleep I decided to make a Canadair or at least something that looks like one.
I quickly opened Fusion360 to make a quick mockup and made the templates to cut my insulation foam with and starter building it today.

DSC_8080.JPG
DSC_8081.JPG
DSC_8082.JPG
DSC_8083.JPG
DSC_8084.JPG
DSC_8085.JPG
I spare you the picture of my floor right now, I have plenty of confetti for christmas!

This one is a much more "advanced" build than all of my wings since I have to do a lot of shaping with cutter blades and sandpaper but it's not really difficult (I have a prop making diploma, half was doing plaster moldings and the other carving foam with some dirt battles sometimes)

I will keep you informed on how it goes :cool:

Fluburtur

Cardboard Boy
So yesterday I put the plane halves to glue and today I just had to cut the hatch, I also put fiber tape on the bottom so it's a bit more watertight, strong and glide on water well.
DSC_8092.JPG
DSC_8093.JPG
DSC_8094.JPG
DSC_8095.JPG
I used magnets from a broken brushless motor to secure the hatch.
Then I cut the wings.
DSC_8096.JPG
DSC_8097.JPG
DSC_8098.JPG
Cutting straight wings is so easy, it's a whole different things than flying wings. I also put fiber tape on both the leading and trailing edges since the trailing is very thin however I ran out of tape so I will have to go get more tomorrow.

Next I will have cut a pocket into the body to fit the wings, not decided wether to glue them on or just secure them with screws. I will also have to make the engine nacelles and the tail.

Fluburtur

Cardboard Boy
Progress report from the last two days, got the wings mostly done!
Gluing the spar, square wooden rod with 1.5cm sides so this will be strong.
DSC_8102.JPG
DSC_8103.JPG