Laser cutting foam board

hamishn

I'm looking for advice or experience with the laser cutting of foam board.

I am a school teacher running a after school activity to build the tiny trainer and have found that the younger kids find it very difficult to cut out the patterns from the foam board, so I wanted to get it laser cut to help speed up the build process.
I live in Dubai so we don't have the DTFB available here, I am not sure exactly how our board differs from the DTFB but it is not the same.

When the board is cut with the laser it causes the foam to melt/burn? and is recessed below the paper.

Does anybody have experience with laser cutting this type of foam and how did you get on.

Attached are a couple of photos so you can understand what I mean.

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG-20160906-WA0001.jpg
    IMG-20160906-WA0001.jpg
    20.8 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG-20160906-WA0004.jpg
    IMG-20160906-WA0004.jpg
    24.2 KB · Views: 1

pccharlie

i have no experience with laser cutters so i know nothing about them but i do know that this is caused by heat can you turn down the power output on the laser ?

Spitfire222

Not a skater
While I have not personally built one of the Flite Test Speed-Build Kits, I do know that they also feature small "scallops" in the edge due to the foam melting from the laser. In that sense, what you experienced is normal and expected. However, your pieces seems to have it even more pronounced, along with singed paper edges. I can only deduce that the laser or setting you used is too strong/high. You'll likely need to experiment with different laser power settings to find the lowest one that cuts the foam completely through. Good luck!

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor