LiPo battery voltage problem

zeeshan

i am a beginner in RC Flying hobby. I bought Imax B6 charger and 1000mah 3S battery. I have used battery few times in a week just for testing servos and motors as i am building my first FT Flyer. Now i have got a problem. Charger is not charging the battery , it says low voltage. It is showing 2.3 4.15 4.20 volts of cells. What should i do? kindly help. I also charged the battery to full each time i used

zeeshan

i am a beginner in RC Flying hobby. I bought Imax B6 charger and 1000mah 3S battery. I have used battery few times in a week just for testing servos and motors as i am building my first FT Flyer. Now i have got a problem. Charger is not charging the battery , it says low voltage. It is showing 2.3 4.15 4.20 volts of cells. What should i do? kindly help. I also charged the battery to full each time i used
I cam across one solution of charging it as NiMh battery. But that increases voltage of 3rd cell beyond 4.2.

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
Sounds like you have a battery with a bad cell. I would contact the seller for a refund or replacement.

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
I doubt anything is wrong with your charger. You could always double check the voltages with a cell checker.

On occasion, I have trouble balancing a battery. The problem happens when one pin of the balance plug fails to make contact or a single balance wire has disconnected inside the pack. Then you will get a reading like 3.6 - 0.0 - 7.2. You are getting “reasonable” reading on each cell. But the low voltage (below 3v) on the first cell indicates a bad cell.

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
Are you fast charging? just plugging main power lead into charger like old school nicads or are you balance charging? if you fast charge all the time cells can get wonky like that. ALWAYS balance charge if you are not already with lipos.