Looking for advice RotorX V3 or Vortex 150

z506

Hello,

I have been flying LOS toy grade quads for about 1 year, six months ago I bought a Taranis XD9 Plus and started using it to practice on the LiftOff simulator, now I want to enter in the real FPV world starting with a mini but powerful quad.

I did some research, watched a ton of videos and I'm having a hard time to decide between the RotorX V3 (DYI) or the Vortex 150.

Does someone have experience with any of this models that can share?

Any other model or path that I should be considering?

Thanks

cranialrectosis

Faster than a speeding face plant!
Mentor
Not sure if this is the Vortex.
https://www.hobbytown.com/vortex-150-pro-bnf-basic-quadcopter-drone-by-blade-helis-blh9550/p540738

If so, it is BNF but to Spektrum NOT FrSky. You will likely have to replace the receiver or mod your radio to be able to fly with the Taranis.

The RotorX Atom V3 is also BNF to Spektrum NOT FrSky. Again you have to swap the receiver on the copter or change the module on the Taranis to DSMX.

If you want a BNF the FuriousFPV Moskito 70 can be ordered with a FrSky receiver. I own one and it was simple to bind to my Taranis and I was flying quickly.

However, if you want to move up from toys, the Moskito isn't much of a jump. If I were you, I would build an Alien or Martian 5" with eMAX red bottom 2205 2300kvs on 4S with a KISS FC and KISS 24A ESCs. It's hard but completely hobby grade. It will be VERY powerful and completely customize able and repairable. With an X4R-SB receiver you can use Taranis SBus and telemetry with voice alerts.

Welcome to FliteTest! :)

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
I agree with Cranial on building your own with a kiss setup. Nothing says you can't put those electronics on a smaller frame then the Alien either.

TBS pnp50 for power filter +osd
KISS FC
KISS24a RE esc's
Motors to match the size of the quad frame.

Possible sub 200 frames could be one the Dquad frames like Rolf Venz flies