Low cost EDF's, are they any good?

DWM

I saw these low cost EDF units on Ali Express and wanted to ask a few questions. Im not currently an EDF flyer but I'm interested in getting into that end of the hobby. I can just see a Versawing with one of these slung under its center in a nacel, or maybe a Kraken with 4 like a b52...😁

1) what are these smaller diameter units used for? From my understanding even the larger 64 and 70mm EDF's are relatively underpowered.

2) is this an EDF thats even worth the time to mess with? Am I better off just buying a more refined unit at a higher cost?

Attachments

• Screenshot_2020-12-19_154759.jpg
    Screenshot_2020-12-19_154759.jpg
    599.3 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

Ryan O.

Out of Foam Board!
always remember shipping may make up the cost of a higher quality fan system in some cases. I have no experience with these, but I haven't heard anything bad from other people. Do you have a link to the fan?

Reactions: DWM

DWM

Thats one thing that caught my eye, these are shipping for free. Other thing is that they are bundled with the correct ESC for each size. That and of course the price point is attractive too😁

US $22.90 | AEORC Patended Product Ducted Fan System EDF for Jet Plane 27mm/30mm/35mm/40mm/45mm/50mm/55mm/64mm/70mm with brushless Motor
https://a.aliexpress.com/_msfOZpb

Last edited:

Kai-003

I got some 64mm and 70mm edfs I could sell for cheap. Let me know if you are interested. 64mm and 70mm edfs are not always under powered. They can have plenty of thrust, but the bigger diameter, the more air you can get going through it, so it would be able to more more air, but they also use more power.

Kai-003

1) what are these smaller diameter units used for? From my understanding even the larger 64 and 70mm EDF's are relatively underpowered.
the smaller edfs are used for small planes, like UMX planes. They are also some times used in vtol planes if needed. Like I said before, not all 64 and 70mm edfs are under powered.