Most cost effective 8x4 props?

hansdude

Sorry if this has been discussed, I tried to search but this forum is huge. I'm a noob so this is in reference to the beginner speed build kits which I've been using as templates.

It turns out that prop savers can't save props from straight nose dives. What's the most cost-effective prop setup you've used? Since this is for the standard FT beginner setup they're 8x4 props.

1. Generally: better to use sturdier props or lots of cheaper props?
  2. Any specific 8x4 prop recommendations?

Basically, in two flight sessions I went through all four props that I bought. Naturally this my thumbs' fault, but I do wonder if a more durable prop would hold up better, or if I should just try to find the best deal on cheap props that I can find until I get over being awful.

At this point I'm writing propellers off as an educational expense. That said it's a cost I'd like to minimize.

Thanks!

colorex

Rotor Riot!
Mentor
Hi hansdude,

Welcome to the forum! If you tend to crash a lot (like me) then you might want to invest in a V929 RTF quadcopter. It is very good at teaching you how to fly multicopters. It can take lots of crashes without requiring repair and you'll learn quite quickly with it. I am convinced that if you are on a budget then this is the best educational investment you will make.

If you already have a 9X transmitter:

http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-W...ter-Mini-UFO-+-Battery-+-Charger-p-56711.html

If you don't have a 9X transmitter:

http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-W...uadcopter-Dexterous-Mini-UFO-RTF-p-46172.html

That's my advice - sorry for not replying to your question...

Well, here I go anyway. If you are not going to carry any expensive stuff (GoPro, FPV) then buy a bunch of cheap propellers. But if you got expensive gear on it (which you shouldn't if you are just learning to fly) then you should put quality propellers on it.

Best of luck!

hansdude

Thanks colorex.