Moving to St. Louis!

JDWells

So I'm moving to the STL area and I'm wondering what people's favorite flying fields and hobby shops are. Any Flitetest flyers around? Thanks!

CavRecon

Cool! I'm just getting into the hobby and I'm out west near St. Peters.

The only nearby shop that I know of is Mark Twain Hobby. I recently joined Spirits of St. Louis, who have a nice field in south St. Charles County. Next meeting is this coming Monday if you want to check them out.

JDWells

I recently checked out Mark Twain too! Quite a step up from my old LHS. I might check out the meeting for the Spirits of St. Louis, or at least head out to the field. Thanks for the tip!

CavRecon

You bet. Happy to host you as a guest out there if you want...I can barely fly my Apprentice in beginner mode, but at least have a card to let you fly if you want. :) Just PM me.

Right on guys! I'm out in Wentzville, joined the Wright Flyers in Wright city. About 30 minutes west of St.Peters but only 12 from my house and $70 a year.

Flite tests very own social networking site. I set up a group for st charles, lincoln, and Warren counties called westplex flyers. And there is a group based out of Alton Illinois I joined. Groups is pretty new so not a lot of activity yet but it looks like it will be very useful.

CavRecon

Oh yeah! I already tried to sign up for that a while back. I clicked on the link in the verification email and it says "no user with that email address." I try to register again and get the message that somebody has already registered with that email.

I sent a help request in via the site. Hope to get rolling!

JDWells

Oh yeah I forgot about that! I joined a while ago and I just joined your westplex group. I'm going to go flying today. Somewhere. lol
Cavrecon if you're going to be at the field at all today, let me know. I would love to take you up on the offer. Definitely flying somehwere today though. Just got a Tundra yesterday and it needs a maiden.

JDWells