need help on pietenpol mini

c_fly

Hi:
I am a beginner. This is the first plane I build.
The pietenpol min take off and immediately turn right and crash hard on the right wing. It won't fly at all. I use the power pack F with 3S 850 75c lipo battery. Can any one help me? I plan to build a new one but I need to know what is going on before I make the same mistake again.

FDS

Elite member
You need to trim the plane. It’s hard to do that if it crashes, as you have discovered.
Learning to fly on your own is hard, if you can find a more experienced pilot to trim the Pietenpol you may find it flies better.
It may be the thrust angle on the power pod is off as well. Double check it and see if the power pod is damaged, they are designed to break so the motor and prop can end up being pointed away from the designed thrust angle even after one crash.
Check your control surfaces are flat, the Rudder and Elevator might be out of trim, you want them dead flat before you trim anything.
I am not a fan of the pietenpol as a biginner plane, it’s too fragile. You can take the electrics out of that and put them into a Tiny Trainer, which is easier to fly as it has a lower wing loading and is more robust.
You can also use those parts in a Mini Scout, which is a good flier too. Again a bit simpler in structure to the pietenpol.

Corbarrad

A few more things to add to what FDS said:
Assuming your plane is straight and square there are two things which either alone or both combined can lead to or increase the likelyhood of the behaviour you described:
  • A lack of airspeed will make a stall more likely especially coming out of ground effect on takeoff. Low airspeed will also increase the effect of prop forces.
  • A tail heavy plane will be inherently unstable, so make sure your CG is in the indicated spot or slightly forward of it.