new soldering iron

fred0000

pretty excited for this. i've been putting off buying a soldering station for just over 2 years now, I kept telling myself that the iron I have works fine, (it does, and I can solder VERY well with it) but for how much i'm into the hobby something a little bit nicer would be pretty awesome. (current iron is a $8 60watt hobbico)

I got this HAKKO 936C clone off of eBay for $48 shipped to my door, not to bad (hobbyking has the same one in their AUS and USA warehouses, just never been in stock)

mine arived today, very pleased, reaches max heat in under a minute, just one gripe, the included soldering iron tip is to small, it'll do for some jobs but plugs and connectors i'd like something bigger, I ordered a variety 10 pack of tips off of eBay for just under $6 shipped. (search HAKKO 907 tips)

HAKKLONE.jpg

HAKKLONE2.jpg

Ak Flyer

Fly the wings off
Mentor
That's a nice setup. I could have used one of those super small tips the other day doing linear servos.

sandblaster

I ordered one from HobbyKing when they first appeared in the US warehouse. Really good buy. As for the tip, I use the small tip for connectors. So far it has worked very well. In fact with the XT60 connectors, one has to be careful of not getting them to hot and distorting them. Works great with 12 ga wire. Have not needed to use it on anything bigger yet.

Now we know why the US warehouse has non. Someone buys them out and resells them on Ebay at a nice profit. Use to be the same with HK lippos but that has stopped. Personally I refuse to play that game and support those who bulk buy to control the market. I would back order from HK and wait. Let the Ebay seller not be able to sell and the bulk buying will stop. Better deal for us all.

Manfet

In fact with the XT60 connectors, one has to be careful of not getting them to hot and distorting them.