Noob here, wondering about hot glue and Hot Houston Summers. Is this a problem?

deenet

Dad, Airplane Nerd
I live in the west Houston area(Katy) and I am looking forward to my first project. But before I even get started, should I be concerned about summertime in the southeast Texas area which can routinely reach 105+?

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor
First, welcome to the forums!

And... umm.... probably. It's been reported by a couple people down in your neck of the desert - and the New Mexico / Arizona contingent, that hot glue can get a bit soft when you're baking planes like that. Sitting in direct sunlight for long in that heat will cause some drooping too.

The solution is simple (and superior in many ways) - White Gorilla Glue! https://www.amazon.com/Gorilla-White-Glue-oz/dp/B001L6CVS6 The two biggest advantages to using WGG are weight savings and temperature resistance. And lower weight planes are able to fly slower and longer, which is generally speaking a good thing. :)

I use a combination of hot glue and WGG in all my foam builds these days - light application of WGG where the parts need to have a good joint, and then just a few little dots of hot glue to hold things in place while the WGG dries. There are some other useful techniques with WGG like using blue painters tape or clear packing tape to close in joints to keep the expanding foam from oozing out where its not wanted, or using a heavy bead of WGG in places where you actually do want a nice foamy bulkhead to develop (like around a plywood firewall being mounted directly into the fuselage).

Also, when gluing foam together with WGG, I almost never add any water or spray like the directions mention. Extra water means extra foam with this stuff, and usually I don't need that unless there is some cavity to fill.