Noob with a Nighthawk 250

bhunt88

I got a EMAX Nighthawk 250 kit for Christmas and a Turnigy 9x radio and receiver. I had read that the naze32 was better than the CC3D so I put a Naze 32Rev 6 on my quad. I should probably mention that this is my first miniquad build and I have zero flying experience.

My problem is that I can't seem to properly pair my Naze32 with my Turnigy 9x receiver, everything else seems to work fine. When I go into Cleanflight to configure my sticks, the roll, pitch and throttle all move when I adjust my throttle on my radio. Something tells me this isn't normal.

Does anyone have a wiring diagram from a Naze32 Rev 6 with a Turnigy 9x? I can't seem to find one anywhere.

Any help is appreciated!

ElectriSean

Eternal Student
Mentor
Basically you want one wire per channel between the Naze and Rx, on pins 1-8 on the Naze. Make sure you have RX_PARALLEL_PWM selected in the receiver tab in Cleanflight.

bhunt88

I have verified that all wires are going to the right channels and from what I can tell they are. I also verified I am in RX_PARALLEL_PWM. Unfortunately I am still having the same problem. Here's how I have it wired up and a video of my problem:

IMG_3742.JPG IMG_3743.JPG

ElectriSean

Eternal Student
Mentor
Looks like some kind of mixing is happening in the transmitter. Make sure when you create your new model in the Tx that it is just a standard airplane (or acro) type with no mixing.

PsyBorg

Wake up! Time to fly!
That looks like you have selected helicopter as the control type. Check to make sure your model type is air plane as Sean says

bhunt88

Thanks guys! That was the answer to problem #1. But now I'm onto another problem. I have EMAX 12A Simonk ESCs and I can't seem to get them all to calibrate. When in cleanflight I can get all motors to spool up almost evenly. They spool up as follows:

1 - 1056
2 - 1031
3 - 1054
4 - 1056