Parts reality check for first Quad

JasonEricAnderson

I'm building my first Quad, it's based on the 330mm mini frame I got for a steal when Microcenter was putting their DIY quad parts on clearance. I'm hoping someone with more quad experience can look over my parts list and see if it's 'sound'. I'm including links for all the details.

Frame: (purchased) F330 red/white frame link
Flight controller: (purchased) KK2.x link
Motors: Brushless Outrunner 1100kv link
ESCs: Afro ESC 12Amp Ultra Lite Multi-rotor link
Props: Turnigy Slowfly Propeller 8x4.5 Black (CCW) & (CW) link1 link2
Battery: (purchased) 3s 1,000mAh link

20151229_132429.jpg

I'm studying and reading up on all the great info here as usual.
Multirotor-Top-Tips

Last edited:

airhawk

Crashing Ace
I would swap the battery for something more powerful later on but i think 1000 mah will pull but you have a decent setup right now whats your goal for this quad?

airhawk

Crashing Ace
so 1300 minimum is what i would go with but you have the 1000 so why not try it i dont know if that small battery could hall that quad

pressalltheknobs

Posted a thousand or more times
1000 mAh isn't the issue, it's the C rating. Smaller capacity (mAH) just means shorter runtime but if you have a smaller capacity you need a higher C rating to get the same amps from the battery. The motors you have are rated to 10 amps so taking that as a maximum you need 40 amps which means your 1000- mAH battery should be 40C or better to provide the max current 1 * 40 = 40 amps) . You probably won't draw anywhere near 10A per motor but you want some room. If the battery is only 20 C you may find its not up to to the task and will fail early. Using smaller props with keep the amp draw down but obviously they need to be big enough to actually fly. If you use a 1500 mAH then (1.5 * 30 = 45 amps) and 30 C battery should work.