Picking your power system. Questions inside.

MrGravey

I want to build and fly more stuff. The problem right now is I have limited knowledge and unlimited desire. I'm reading and learing a lot so as to limit the limits placed on me by my limited knowledge right now. I am however missing something I feel needs to be next. How do I pick my motor, ESC, prop and battery set up?

I think the best way to make all this work in my head it just to walk me through you process. I don't understand how to take all the numbers out there and know if I can get the power I want, if the ESC will hold up, if the battery will give enough power, and what props will work best with the set up.

For example, if I wanted to build the FT3D I will need the more powerful pod design. Most, if not all, of the recommended parts are out of stock in the US. So, if I wanted to find something else that will work how would I figure that out? I understand this may be a very large question, but I'm willing to read if you just want to link me to good information to help me understand. I just have to nail this down to feel better about the hobby and my knowledge of it and reading the random bits I can find just isn't getting me where I want to be.

Thanks

zev

lumpy member