'PID Tuning: A Simple Guide for Beginners'

Was This Guide Helpful?

• Yes

Votes: 13 100.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

anglovirtual

I thought I’d post a simple guide for PID Tuning from what I’ve learnt from trying to tune multirotors. It’s by no means exhaustive, but I’ve tried not to make it too complicated in the hopes that it’s easy for complete beginners to understand and apply quickly in the real world.

Hopefully it can help those who may be struggling with getting to grips with tuning their quads? Or at least give them a starting point.

If this has already been covered elsewhere feel free to take the post down. If not, perhaps it might help someone…
Thanks & happy flying!
Ed

FIRST, AN EASY-TO-UNDERSTAND PID ‘ANALOGY’:

P= 'Power' - how much power is optimum to keep the quad stable. If you want the quad to make corrections at a faster pace: raise the P!

I= 'Intervention'
- how much the quad will intervene to remain stable when some outside force (e.g. wind, gravity!) is acting on it.

D= 'Damping' - Keeps P & I in check!
Fine control and fine tuning of end-range of fast movements in all axis.
(Stops the quad acting like it's drunk!)

Tune either P or I-Gain FIRST, (depending on preference & what works for you- I find it easier to start with P), then lastly D* - SO: 'P - I - D' !

*Your Quad should fly pretty well if P & I are tuned correctly BEFORE you even touch the D values.

PRE-PID TUNING TIPS:

Save yourself a massive headache and ALLWAYS tune your quad with the payload, battery type and weight distribution that you prefer for day-to-day flight! If you tune your PIDs without your camera on the quad, or a different battery type, the PID tune will be likely wrong when you strap-on your camera again! The same goes for props. Changing prop type/size after tuning will affect the PID tune.

Tuning should be done in Acro/Rate mode generally.
Set your RC Rates & Expo to your preferred values.