Solved Planning CNC build - Need advice on software!

jhitesma

Some guy in the desert
Mentor
Don't feel bad. I'm kind of a software guy by trade (backend website developer) and it still took me longer to work out the software and workflow for my printer than it did for me to assemble it :D And that's despite my kit being more of a "box of parts" including incorrect instructions and the fact that I had spent quite a bit of time researching the software side before ordering the printer!

I'd warn against using cheap filament just because it's cheap. I haven't used the HK filament but I've used quite a few different brands and almost universally cheap filament is harder to print successfully with. Most of the cheap filament I've used just doesn't stick to the bed as well resulting in warping...but some also jams in my all metal hotend if I don't pre-oil it. More expensive filaments I've never had issues with. I did have good luck with cheaper Hatchbox from Amazon...but the price on it has gone up and availability has been spottier (and one time they sent me esun instead which was hands down the worse filament I've ever tried to print with.)

You can get good results with cheap filament. I've used a ton of MakerGeeks from their grab bags which works out really cheap if you don't mind not being able to pick a color...but it does need to be pre-oiled with my v6 all metal hot end. And other than that one roll of eSun even the cheapest filaments have given great results once I got things dialed in....though in some cases that took almost half a spool of experimenting to figure out what that filament liked.

On the other hand every roll of Atomic filament I've used has "just worked" with more or less default settings and printed amazing with great bed adhesion and easy release once the bed cooled. They're more expensive...but it's a lot easier to get great results with good raw materials!

dkj4linux

Elite member