Help! Printed Z thickness issues

Turbojoe

Elite member
So after a ton of mechanical work and a solid day of tweaking my Cura 4.9 settings I've got X and Y as well as hole printing right to expected dimensions. Z however is kicking my butt and always has. As an example on a 3mm thick piece it always prints at 2.47mm. I'm just not Cura savvy enough to know what changes I need to make to compensate. I wish there was a vertical expansion adjustment like there is for horizontal. I've done Google searches but most everything I found assumed you would be well versed in Cura and I'm not. Even though I'm not a Cura newbie I need some suggestions in beginners terms. Any help?

Joe

JasonK

Participation Award Recipient
that much off seems odd, have you checked your z movement on your printer to verify that the movement is 3mm when you do 3mm of jog?

if it was less then that that, I could see it being to close to the bed on the first layer or minor under extrusion. but for the zeroing/bed leveling, you would be destroying your surface if you were off enough to account for 0.5mm (that is >2 layers at 0.2mm layer..) same thing with under extrusion, you wouldn't get that there..

Boberticus

I think you need to tune your stepper motors for realsies, instead of using horzontal expansion as a "crutch"

I had a huge amount of trouble getting my delta printer tuned to correct dimensions for printing single wall airplane wings, and I used horizontal expansion to initially get to usable, somewhat correct dimensions, but as soon as I tried printing things that were bigger than a calibration cube, all my tunes simply wouldn't work and I started getting bad dimensions again.