RC Bottle rocket glider

Hi,

First things first, I'm a newbie and I haven't been able to fly my FT Vector (not a very smart first choice) because of so many rainy weekends.

To the point: I'm thinking of adding elevons to a bottle rocket.

It's the kind that builds air pressure on 2 liter bottles and launches them along with the minimal amounts of water inside when launched. I plan on having it launch high into the air, then glide and take control of the rocket from there.

No props and motors, or why would I even want to launch it that way in the first place?

I don't know how I might make a design that could function as both a rocket and a plane. I know this isn't a model rocket forum, but perhaps I could get some pointers on the plane part?

I also want to point out the fact that the bottle isn't that large, and I might even add a second bottle to increase space for wings and a longer fuselage (or body tube in model rocket terms).

Ph and I have no idea where this thread goes :p

liamnave

flyboy
Weight is definitely going to be your limiting factor. Your gonna need a pretty big bottle rocket for that to work. The way I would do it is find the CG of the rocket, build wings of DTFB, and the get elevon mixing. Like I said, unless you have a pretty big rocket this is never gonna get off the ground. What size rocket to you have in mind?

Andrew

G'day Mate
@LIAMNAVE , he's talking about "water rockets" 2 liter size bottle.

Back in the late 90s I played with water/air bottle rockets a lot, with the right exhaust nozzle they are very powerful.

I've always wanted to build a water rocket glider since then but it's always being pushed way down on my "to do list".

@LIAMNAVE , he's talking about "water rockets" 2 liter size bottle.

Back in the late 90s I played with water/air bottle rockets a lot, with the right exhaust nozzle they are very powerful.

I've always wanted to build a water rocket glider since then but it's always being pushed way down on my "to do list".