SAFE & other pilot assist downside

jolfstn74

Hi! I'm a new pilot,started with a SAFE equipped sport cub s,then a turbo Timber umx also w/ SAFE, now I have a slow stick micro (vintage stick from Rage RC) 3 channel that due to my reliance on SAFE I'm barely able to keep in the air! After any type of adjustment to the starting trajectory,one must compensate to level the flight,I had no clue how much the planes and controller were doing this for me automatically! The stick is barely more than a rubber band flyer used to be sold for a dollar at the 5&10 next to the register,I've gone from easy take offs & landings to consistent nose dives and crashes,I need to learn to fly all over again! If you have been doing the same,try disabling SAFE or whatever your manufacturer calls the telemetry/gyro assist/servo limiting and attempt a simple take off,circuit and landing, if you are successful then kudoes, but if I can get over this (before completely destroying each plane in my little fleet) I'll not use SAFE again,nor recommend it to others, unless they don't plan on flying much. If one is attempting to build on skill it will prevent one from doing so. The trade off of getting into the air from one's first attempt is you are prevented from learning how to really control your plane!

clolsonus