Scratch build questions

Sly Fox

I have never done a build before. Was looking at trying to make a tiny sparrow glider to start. I downloaded plans. ( Looks like I need the Tile A plans for a normal home printer). So my questions are:

1. What type & size I foam board do I get from my local hobby store (plans don't say).
2. Once I place the plan tiles on the be foam board, do I just trace the pattern with a razor (assuming you just tape the plans in place)?
3. For the score lines do I just use something blunt to transfer the lines to the foam?

Sorry if these seem like dumb questions.

JasonK

Participation Award Recipient
Adam's ready board is the recommended material, you can pick it at the dollar store in the US.

the plans tell you what each cut type is, solid black is cut through, dashed red is a light score. You should follow along the build video for what ever plane your giving, it will cover all the details (outside cutting out the plans).

mrjdstewart

Legendary member
20x30" is the typical Foam board size. yes, you will need to tape the plans together then put onto the foam board. i typically assemble plans, then cut out the parts and tape them to the FB. i then use a razor knife to do the cuts. start with reference lines and score cuts, then any holes that need cut out, then do the perimeter of the part last.

good luck,

me :cool:

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
There are many ways to accomplish the task. Myself, I prefer to glue the plans to the fb and cut them out. I will save this as a template and use it to make my planes. I will use pin to poke through the template to mark score lines & such.

Some use poster board for templates, I prefer fb. It’s easier to make modifications. If I need to extend the nose to achieve proper CG. It’s easy to modify the template and incorporate the mod into future planes.

Sly Fox

Adam's ready board is the recommended material, you can pick it at the dollar store in the US.