Scratch built CNC for fun, and parts.

Hasersys

I am no expert at all. I just love to tinker an build things.

I posted a thread asking about Materials to use for control horns. I have drawn some up on Sketchup, and will be putting them into my cnc machine. In the post Balu Asked me to post info on my cnc machine so here it is.

I will try an shorten it up.
About 4 years ago I started building my own circuit board(Driver Board) kinda. I followed a few other builds, and eventually came across one that I liked. So following this particular build I built my board. I did the whole copper clad, ink jet, Etching. Made my board. Years went by, so did other projects, and changing of parts, testing ect, My board was done. Used it for a while for testing, but never built the actual cnc. Finally one day I went ahead an ordered a few more stepper motors, but went with a 4 wire setup, instead of using the junk printer, and scanner motors I went with small NEMA17s. This meant I needed a new driver board. I went from Uni, to bipolar motors.. I haven't dived that deep into it in a long time so can't explain the differences. But this began what brought me to my new machine.

Driver Board:The machine has a cheap TB6560 driver board.
Stepper Motors:3 NEMA17 steppers
Power Supply:A very small power supply that I specifically ordered using a super simple calculation to figure out how many amps I need and volts.
Router: My cheap Dremel
Software: Kcam, Sketchup, Cambam, Inkscape

I also have a laser for it, but burnt the diode out! Laser will be back in SOON I hope.

The routing area is about 12"x12" but I never push it past 10x10. Depending on what I am doing, engraving, cutting, or material type its speed can very. I think I get about 12-13 ?ipm? before I miss steps.
34566.jpg
10157239_753851997980480_893161961_n.jpg
10256808_756778694354477_1615431504532406195_n.jpg

Attachments

• 1.png
    1.png
    152.8 KB · Views: 39

Hasersys