Solar powered plane

IcyBird

So I really want to build a solar powered glider for fpv or just flying around for a really long time. I'm thinking of buying solar cells from eBay or amazon. So my question is should I use the solar cells to power the motor directly or use the cells to charge the battery in mid flight? I'm not shore how to use a lipo battery as it's charging if you can but I don't want my plane to drop out of the air when a cloud comes over. I think I can get the cells to a voltage the same of a 3 cell lipo. I just want to power a blue wonder but I have no experience with solar panels so any help will be great. Thanks

rcspaceflight

creator of virtual planes
I'd think that the easiest way would be to get a brushed motor and power it directly off of the solar panels. Then use a LiPo to power the Rx and servos. You would be limited by the LiPo because even though servos and an Rx don't require a lot of power, they will still eventually drain the LiPo completely.

You may not even need any sort of throttle, but at least an on and off switch for the motor.

airhawk

Crashing Ace
i was thinking the same thing for the solar powered plane idea im thinking the solar plan on a switch to make it a hybrid of electric and solar but if there's any more things i could do including electronics it would be my honor just send me a visitor message
-airhawk

Jtnb

The bigger the glider, the easier it'll bear the added weight of the panels. You may have a hard time getting thrust necessary to get the glider to altitude early on, so perhaps a high-start motor-glider?

Might be worthwhile looking at output wattage of the panels under normal circumstances and figuring out what motor to mount given that information. I'd agree that in-flight charging is problematic. For one thing, how will you safely charge the lipo batts without balancing?

I suggest using an online calculator to determine what wattage you can run.

FlyingMonkey

Bought Another Trailer
Staff member
Admin