sooo...has anyone used the power of EDF to make a truly functional RC hovercraft?

Marzipan

my Google-fu has shown there is a distinct lack of fully functional RC hovercraft out there and what is out there are generally pitiful examples that can only barely move on perfectly flat surfaces, I think that's due to the issue of not having motors with enough airflow and static pressure to fill the skirt, lift the craft up and keep up, and have enough air escaping the skirt slots or holes so it is actually hovering.

I have zero RC experience of any kind, so I'm totally theorizing and talking from my ass based on how I've seen aircraft perform with your standard electric motor and the jets with EDF. right now I'm only talking about having a functional skirt. the actual propulsion would be handled by one or two standard motors with or without rudders.

further to this...because TF has an awesome ease of use and low budget focus, making said hovercraft would be affordable so many could build one of their own.

has this been done already and my Google-fu failed me or is my observation right...there is a distinct lack of options and a serious vacuum in the hovercraft space?

LitterBug

Techno Nut
EDFs are not necissarily best for hovercraft. They are usually propped for high speed, not high pressure. Squirrel cage might be a better idea for a lift fan. What you want is high volume for the lift fan, not high pressure or high speed.

Marzipan

EDFs are not necissarily best for hovercraft. They are usually propped for high speed, not high pressure. Squirrel cage might be a better idea for a lift fan. What you want is high volume for the lift fan, not high pressure or high speed.

I just looked up squirrel cage and found a fan blower. is that what you were referring to?

quorneng

Master member