Suggestions for an upgradable beginner quad.

Tench745

Master member
Suggestions for an upgradable beginner quad. (A beginner's journey into multi-rotors)

Hi all. I'm sure there have been numerous threads on this, but new times new technology, etc.
I've been flying fixed-wing models on and off for about six years and I've been wanting to try a multirotor; something I can just buzz around my back yard with when I don't feel like loading up my planes to drive to the park.
I'm looking for something at or below the $100 price point that I can repair when I crash, bind with my DX6i and can carry the weight of FPV gear if I decide to add it in the future.
I wouldn't mind building, as I think that may be the only way to get what I want, but the cheapest multi power pack FT sells is still $100 and that doesn't include the flight controller.
Any suggestion of ARFs or suggestions of parts to build would be welcome. It may be that you just can't get what I want for what I'm willing to pay. If that's the case, I'd like to hear that too.

(EDIT 9/27/15)

I've decided that this thread may be useful for others beginning their journey into the world of multi-rotors. Given that this post was my first step into a new world I thought it sensible to continue that journey in the same thread. Please, feel free to read on and contribute thoughts, advice, etc.

Last edited:

razor02097

Rogue Drone Pilot
Man that's a very tall order... I'll do my best... Here are a few things to consider...

• Building your own... you can try to piece together the cheapest parts you can find. However even the cheapest motors are around $8 each which is 1/3 of your total budget right there... speed controllers are same so 2/3 of the budget is blown...

If you aren't a platinum member at hobby king just click the link and stare at it for about 5 minutes. A window should pop up and ask if you want it for a "special one time deal" of $105.63