Swap meet score???

Frugalone

Saita FA-65, P51, Futaba 72mhz radios. Owner claimed it was flown once in 1994 and it was too fast for him. The story goes that they clocked at 100+ mph.

040 trainer ??? 6 channel Airtronics 72 mhz radios. Last flown in the mid 90's.

I am very new to hobby and still learning to fly the electric foamies. I saw these at the end of a swap meet and the guy was not going to bring anything back home. He made me a package deal of these 2 planes and several boxes of misc. parts.

Obviously I am not going attempt to fly either one of these until I gain some experience but I really enjoy tinkering. Both the engines were seized from 20 years of storage. I have been able to free them both and would like to test the radios and get them running. I don't want to spend a bunch of money on batteries for the receivers knowing that they won't be flown for some time.

Has any one used a 2 cell LiPo with a BEC for receiver power?

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 0
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    1.1 MB · Views: 0
I run a 2S lipo with a BEC all the time in glow planes. I would either run two 500mah in parallel, or one 1000mah. Never had an issue. On a .40 size plane with four standard servos I get 20+ flights!

Frugalone

Thank you! I have an excess of 2s lipo's and was quite proud of myself that I thought of it. So much for thinking I had an original idea. �� Like I mentioned, I am really green!

Now to order a BEC, pick up some fuel and see if this old equipment is any good! The trainer came with a set of snow skis and pontoons. Hopefully by this winter I will have enough flight expeience to get out on the frozen lakes here.

Frugalone

I run a 2S lipo with a BEC all the time in glow planes. I would either run two 500mah in parallel, or one 1000mah. Never had an issue. On a .40 size plane with four standard servos I get 20+ flights!