Talk about CP Antenna construction

bbmagic

I'm just getting into FPV for my tricopter and I thought that I would start with the difficult stuff first, constructing my Tx and Rx CP antennas. David's site rcexplorer.se is the best instructions that I could come up with so I followed his guide using 1280 Mhz as the frequency I wanted. I started with the Tx antenna (clover leaf) because I thought with one less lobe than the skew planar (the Rx antenna) it would be easier to construct. I didn't know of a local source for the RG316 coax called for, so I purchased a SMA male jumper that was 18" long from IBCrazy's web site videoaerialsystems.com. This will give me the SMA ends and coax needed for both of my antennas already assembled. I wanted to also mention that there was no shipping charges on my order from IBCrazy!
RG316 Coax M to M.jpg
I located the .030" copper coated MIG welding wire at Home Depot. That is about all the essentials needed to construct these antennas.
I cut the 3 wires as described in the guide and sanded the ends square and to length with a dremel and drum sanding attachment. Straightening these wires is just a matter of patience and a good pair of pliers so that the wire doesn't want to twist while your coaxing it straight. Following David's guide I bent the wires into a U shape using the measurements that his calculator spits out for you. The next step is forming the arcs. I just had to stumble through this because I never did find a reliable way that would make a smooth arc and make the ends meet. It isn't hard but it is a bit slow going and a little frustrating. The next step is getting the coax prepared. I cut the lead I had purchased about 3 inches from one end hoping if I screwed up I had enough that I could start over with the length I would have left after cutting the mess off. I stripped the outer plastic off about a half inch and started straightening the woven shielding.
Teasing shielding wire.jpg