Tissue covering question

MikeK

Was watching this video:

At 03:10 he shows that he's using a white glue and water mixture. Presumably to treat the tissue like dope?
At 03:16 he shows a candle. I have no idea what it's purpose is. The still image must have importance enough to show it?

Forgive my ignorance...I have limited experience with tissue covering. Haven't done a model in about 40 years. All I used back then was the common dope. And even then my results were not the best...Still wound up with sagging tissue.

MikeK

Okay, nevermind. I found the answer in the comments:

"I use the melted wax to make my own waxed paper to cover the plan. Later, I rubbed wax on a plastic dish and lid, so that the fuselage and wings wouldn't get stuck to the plastic, while drying. But this step isn't really necessary. "

quorneng

Master member
MikeK
My method uses a white glue bead around the periphery of the balsa and then drape dampened tissue over the structure carefully pulling it as tight as possible (easy with Modelspan tissue as it has some wet strength) then weigh down. Let dry slowly. Too warm and the tissue dries & shrinks before the glue has set so wrinkles result. When all sides are covered a light coat of 50/50 shrinking dope & thinners to fix the tissue and to stick it to the balsa frame. Weigh down again until the dope is fully hardened.
The trick is the damp tissue does stretch a bit and is laid virtually wrinkle free before it dries. The shrinkage is thus uniform in all directions.

MikeK