Total Noob...

Bigs

Imagine you're a total noob..

Where to begin?

My aims/goals:

FPV of good quality with goggles suitable for me wearing glasses (or can work for a short-sighted geezer without them)
40 mins or more flight time (I'd like an hour...)
10 km or so range (or more)
Something that can fold or break down into a backpack
Slowish but maneuverable flight characteristics
Budget of around $500 or less...

Is the above possible?

I live on the island of Borneo, so rules are reasonably lax, just don't go near airports. :cool:

I'm semi-interested in the Parrot Disco, but I'm told one can DIY for less than half the $1200 price and get twice the (2 miles) range. Is that true?

Currently I have a DJI Phantom Standard, which is a fantastic camera platform but very limited on range. I'm thinking of either keeping that and also a long-range fixed wing FPV, or selling the P3S and upgrading to a longer-range FPV quad, such as DJI's "lightbridge" models (maybe the new Mavic, if it has a decent battery?)

If a long-range fixed-wing model can be made cheaply enough and easily repairable then I can see this becoming my new hobby...

My main current hobby is riding off on my KLX250 motorcycle, just exploring around and camping overnight. The Phantom could be a fun addition to that but it's pretty bulky and very limited in range and battery life, plus lots of tall trees around here. Finding good places for FPV flight could certainly add a new dimension if I could soar long and far, with high quality goggles.

Some points to note:

I typically ride alone, so need to be able to launch and land alone
I ride off-road a lot, so need something small and tough enough for a motorcycle side pannier or strapped to the back
I mentioned the tall trees, right? And mountains. I'll be flying in mountains.