Totally New to RC, lots of questions

NewLn

HI all, I am completely new to RC and the Forums and just want to get some help setting things up. I have always wanted to fly multi rotors since I first saw it on Youtube. I got myself a little LaTrax Alias from my hobby shop just to try out quads, and I loved it. After watching many Flite Test videos and RC videos and reading up, I feel like i may be able to actually get started on my own quad. I am definitely a low budget flyer, so here is my plan. I want to fly FPV multirotors, so I decided to build a FT Gremlin. I am ordering the parts one by one because of my low budget. I should be getting the frame, FC, and ESCs later today. I then plan on getting the motors, then a battery charger, and the batteries. I didn't mention the Rx because this is one of my point of interest. I know this topic has been beaten to death on this forum but I am considering getting either a Spektrum dx6e or a FrSky Taranis d9x. I'm leaning towards the dx6e just because I am totally new to RC and would have no idea what I am doing on a Taranis or similar OpenTx transmitter. The only reason I am considering getting the Taranis is because it seems like a one and done Tx that would last me a while. After I get all the stuff for the quad, i plan on flying it Los for a while before moving onto FPV. Once I do fly FPV though, I would put a little hyperion camera on my gremlin and get some Marvell Vision 2 goggles. If you guys have any suggestions for me as far as getting started in RC I would love to hear it. I am looking forward to getting to know the community!

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor
Welcome to the forums! :applause:

(Hah - beat you to first welcome again Jim! :p)

I think you're on a good plan there for getting into multi-rotors. I'm sure you'll be able to find some great folks to help you along the way - Psyborg in particular is an excellent resource for all things quad and gremliny here.