TriCopter Question

DumbAce

Does Anyone have suggestions for Motor's/Battery's for a 30min Flite???

Im new to RC, I just started flying last month with a Bixler, I love the concept of the tricoptor and am looking to get into areal photography, filming moving Race cars. I would like to build a Tricoptor large enough for a gopro + FPV + return to home/gps setup. Also, I want it to stay flying for at least 30 minutes. My question, is does anyone have suggestions on Motor, Prop's, and Battery mah I should get in order to make the 30min thing happen with this much wait and or would I be better off with the Bixler (keep in mind I want to film pit stops as well as moving race cars).

PS Ill start small with simply line of site, but want the coptor to be built on/around the 30min flight concept (which is a must).

Last edited:

x3mperformance

30 min flight, is a awfull long time for a tricopter or multirotor.
Consider that there's 3 or more motors spinnin at the same battery.
So i would think a 10 min flight time is possible.
I uses a setup with NTM Propdrive 28 - 36 750 kv motors, F20 amps ESC's, and turnigy Nano tech 2200 3S lipo's, where i am gettin about 8 - 10 min flights. Depending at the weather, Wind, how agressive i fly, hov much gear i have loaded, FPV and/or/only Gopro

So 30 min... I would consider that out of reach...

Rene'

johanjonker

That's where planes come in much better and that's flight time. both setups got its pro's and con's.

I do believe 30min on a multicopter is possible, but that's for advance multicopter guys to show and tell.. I have a simple tricopter with 3 24g motors and beteween a 3S 1600mah I get about 3min more on a 3S 4000mah cause its just so much more weight to carry around.

and I must add, if you can fly a bixler, it doesnt mean you can fly RC well, cause flying my Bixler V2 its so easy, it feels like I'm cheating

Last edited:

Carbon

Elemental Madness