Tricopter VS V-Tailcopter

TorqueRanger

I am a newbie to multi-rotor and I want to build a Tricoptper or V-Tail copter..... But my question is what is the difference between the 2 as far as flying them and durably ??\

Thanks
JAy

Cyberdactyl

Misfit Multirotor Monkey
Tricopter has 3 motors and requires a servo for yaw movement (clockwise and counter-clockwise rotation).

V-tail has four motors and gets its yaw motion from the two rear motors being at roughly +60 and -60 degrees to the vertical.

Tricopter is probably slightly more difficult to build because of its yaw mechanism.

Which handles a crash better? That's all dependent on how they are built. But I'd say the V-tail would handle a crash better, but I could certainly be persuaded differently. :p

TorqueRanger

Tricopter has 3 motors and requires a servo for yaw movement (clockwise and counter-clockwise rotation).

V-tail has four motors and gets its yaw motion from the two rear motors being at roughly +60 and -60 degrees to the vertical.

Tricopter is probably slightly more difficult to build because of its yaw mechanism.

Which handles a crash better? That's all dependent on how they are built. But I'd say the V-tail would handle a crash better, but I could certainly be persuaded differently. :p
Thanks but I know the physical differences but I what I am trying to figure out if they fly different or about the same and is one better than the other???

Cyberdactyl

Misfit Multirotor Monkey
I believe a tri has a faster yaw rate. . .all things being subjectively equal.

V-tail would inherently have more lift capacity.

crlock

The difference is that tricopters are way cooler :cool: they look like a hunter from terminator

Yep you could use smaller motors and props. I guess you just need to make sure you are getting enough thrust from the smaller motors without overloading them.