Trimming a plane

alan0043

Hi Everyone,

I understand this is a basic question on RC planes. I have done a Google search and could not find the answer that was helpful. I understand the trim tabs on the radio do. But no one talks about throttle speed when trimming a plane. So what throttle speed do you use ? 1/2 throttle or 2/3 throttle maybe 3/4 throttle ? I can't believe using full throttle to do trims. I understand how important speed is when flying. So what do you say ?

All input is welcomed,
Al

I’m a newbie as well so I’ll be interested in hearing the responses from more experienced pilots.

As for myself, right or wrong, I decided to do it at my “cruising speed”, i.e. the speed that I feel comfortable buzzing around and trying basic maneuvers as I learn to fly. For me that has turned out to be around 30-35% throttle, depending on the plane. right in the region that I can generally maintain flight without elevation change.

tamuct01

Are you talking about "at what speed (throttle setting) should I trim out my plane?" or "how should I use the throttle trim switch?"

For the speed question, there is no specific throttle setting (1/4, 1/2, full, etc) to trim out (aileron, elevator, rudder). Usually, the process is as follows: Get the airplane in the air and into a stable position. You may have to hold some aileron, elevator, or rudder input to do this. Working aileron, elevator, and rudder trims (usually in about that order) adust the trims to where it will fly straight and level with no stick inputs. Speed is kept at a cruising speed well above the stall speed, but usually not full throttle.