• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Ugly Wonder - Build

SP0NZ

FT CAD Gremlin
Staff member
Admin
Mentor
SWAPPABLE - UGLY WONDER

2015-02-13 22.49.46.jpg

DESCRIPTION

The Ugly Wonder is another variation of the FT Bloody Wonder. If you have seen the build thread or the article for the Bloody Wonder MkIII, you probably already know that I'm a huge Bloody Wonder fan. I have built, flown and destroyed more of them than I care to count. Flying combat is one of my favorite things to do in the hobby. I'm lucky to have a son, brother and nephew to fly combat with from time-to-time. I always thought that it would be cool to have some different looking combat planes in the skies together. So, I started playing around with the design of the FT Bloody Wonder.

My first design was the Bloody Wonder MkIII. The MkIII to me, is really just an evolution of an already great design. I wanted to keep the same basic look and flight characteristics, but add some features to make it stronger, yet easier to build. Designing the fuselage and construction technique for the MkIII opened the door for what I was really after in the first place, a Bloody Wonder, with a whole new look.

DPS Ugly Wonder B4.png

For my second plane design, I give you the Ugly Wonder. The best way to describe it is a mash-up of a Bloody Wonder, FunBat, and an Ugly Stick. In this design, there is nothing left of the original FT Bloody Wonder. Oh, don't get me wrong, you can still see a Bloody Wonder lurking in there, but every piece of this plane has been modified to give it a vintage WWI era look. The wing area is slightly larger, and the surface area of the vertical stabilizers has been reduced, which should make it an even more maneuverable combat ship. The redesigned vertical stabilizers still allow for vertical take-offs as well.

2015-01-28 23.05.49.jpg

DETAILS

3 Views and Isometric view of the 3D model