What about a cedar fuselage on a foamie? Simple Soarer?

Jtnb

A question for the balsa and foam-friendly.

I'm building a simple soarer out of dollar tree foam. The fuselage is fussy and from what I've read, pretty fragile. I'm a very capable woodworker having built boats and hollow wooden surfboards, so I'm happy to work on a small, lightweight, thin fuse for the airplane.

Key questions are these:

1. Can I use red or white cedar, planed super thin 1/16 or so? I have lots of it, so would rather use it than balsa that I'd have to buy.

2. Any reason I can't make this work for a light plane like the simple soarer? Fuselage would certainly be heavier than in foam, but I could do my level best to keep it super light.

3. Any thoughts on joining my stick-mount motor to the assembly?

Stradawhovious

"That guy"
DO IT!! Then report back with photos and video and such.

As far as the motor, use a stick. You might have to get a little creative on how to fasten the stick to the fuse, but that's what this hobby is all about, right?

Jtnb

DO IT!! Then report back with photos and video and such.

As far as the motor, use a stick. You might have to get a little creative on how to fasten the stick to the fuse, but that's what this hobby is all about, right?

THAT was enough for me Strada. I'm on it.

It'll be a little while before I can start, but I will come back to this thread with photos as I do it.

Thanks for the encouragement.

Ron B

Posted a thousand or more times
Most anything WILL work if you have enough horse power.
Cedar will be a lot heavier than balsa so just see what the finished plane weighs before deciding what motor to use.
A cedar plane in clear finish would be neat to see.

YooperJon