Wing Conversion

Captglvr

Hi All,

This is my first build experience beyond the cut kits….
I want to convert my (WWI painted) Baby Blender into an Eindecker. The short coupling on the ‘Blender is just too sensitive a flyer for me. I want to build a single wing from plans that is longer and a smooth flier.
I could just make a BB wing and make it longer, but I want the ailerons and the servos out on the end of the wings (2servos).

The wing for the Tutor is perfect, but I need to have it fit the BB fuse.

Problems I see:
The Tutor wing is wider.
It also is made to sit on top of the fuse, not under.
And it appears to be thicker.
With any dihedral, the bottom area for landing gear will be slanted.

I think can put the slots for the fuse into the top of the T wing to fit into
52D5E6E0-E773-46A7-A552-0C34BBB94D24.jpeg
the fuse…

These are my obstacles. I’d appreciate any advice on this project. Thanks!

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
A lot can change when you make the wing larger. I have made some wings that were too big, it made landing difficult. With the standard size FT plane, a wing loading 10-15 Oz per SqFt makes a good flying plane.

Captglvr

Thanks for the warning, but I want to try some version of this. Without the top wing the oz/sq ft is halved. A single wing will need to be bigger just to maintain the OG oz/sq ft ratio. I’m just trying to see if scratch builder/designers here have thoughts between making a longer original bottom wing profile or a wing that is wider as well as longer.
Thanks for your help.

SSgt Duramax

Why don't you just build an Armin wing? They are easy to build and scalable to whatever size you want. The smooth airfoil will look good too.

Captglvr

Why don't you just build an Armin wing? They are easy to build and scalable to whatever size you want. The smooth airfoil will look good too.