X5C-1 Motor Performance - Related to Battery?

TheSymaMan

Hi, I'm new to FliteTest forums, I joined regarding my X5C-1. So today I noticed I am having to push the throttle far too much just to get it about 6 feet off the ground, today I ALSO noticed that my stock 500 MAH battery took very long to charge.

So my question is, does battery strenght have to do with motor performance? Basically, if my battery's life is getting smaller and weaker, does the motor get affected? If I add a 700 MAH 35c, will the motors perform better?

Appreciate the answer, I just don't wanna know that my X5C-1 is gonna give up on me 4th week of ownership, I take good care of it, no hard crashes. NOTE : I have done a Range mod on it, and have a 700 MAH 35C heading to my house.

Snarls

Gravity Tester
Mentor
Hi SymaMan welcome to the forum! It sounds like your battery is starting to go bad. Have you been using it conservatively, not draining it too much, and not overcharging it. If not, then the battery health will deteriorate over time. Another possibility is that the included battery is cheap and has died too quickly.

The reason you aren't getting the same performance is because the battery is starting to struggle to supply the current required to fly the quad. As batteries age or get damaged, the internal resistance increases, and supplying higher values for amps becomes difficult. Your motors have nothing to do with it (unless your problem actually resides within the motors). A 700mAh 35c battery should help, but only because it is new and I would guess that the C rating of 35 is higher than the stock battery. That means the new battery will be able to give the amps you need without sagging in power.

TheSymaMan