A noob's guide to selecting your electronics

SteveRobey

Hi all,

I'm posting this in the sub-forum I am because I am new to the hobby and am learning everything as I go. If you are an experienced builder and you find some information here you feel is incorrect, please feel free to chime in, but please also include your sources and any mathematical expressions that back up your statements. I intend this to serve as a guide for other beginners looking for the proper resources.

So let's begin by posing a scenario: You've built and flown your first electric plane with all of your parts purchased from Flite Test and now you want to take a stab at souping it up on your own to give the plane more speed/power. How do you know what parts you need to use to give your build optimal performance? Well the first three things to look at are your motor, your battery and your ESC. These three things must be properly matched to ensure efficiency, and to ensure you don't kill your ESC. These small ESCs may be fairly inexpensive, but who wants to fry one and have to wait for another to ship? I know I don't. Flite Test has done an excellent job of pairing up motors and ESCs in their power pack kits and the recommendations with each of their models are spot on. But if you decide you want to design your own power system there are some things you have to look at. The first two being the motor you want to use and the battery. I'll use the power pack A for this example.