HelpI'm looking for a better method to cut foam...

Crazed Scout Pilot

I am a mad scratch builder and have been cutting foam board with a razor blade but would like to try building a hot wire cutter. I think it will be easer. Could some one draw me an diagram of the easiest way and cheapest way to make my own hot wire cutter. I have scrap wood 20 gauge steel wire I have extra push rods from FT kits I have a 3 cell 2200 mph battery and an esc and some screws laying around. Im 16 and don't have a job so I can't really buy anything else. Is that all I need or do I need something else? I appreciate your help. thank you.

Shurik-1960

I am currently in Moscow, but the day after tomorrow I will go to the country and take a picture of my cutting machine: sheet chipboard and 2 furniture sleds along the edges. This machine can be automated, but I like to cut manually. The wings can be cut in the shape of a rectangle and a trapezoid. The quality is much higher than cutting onions.

Piotrsko

Master member
I use a router, roto zip and tablesaw. All with new sharp blades. Sometimes my belt sander. YMMV

A hot wire cutter is basically some sort of insulated frame that holds the wire taught, a power supply and and some thin strong wire. There was a how to somewhere on this forum

Last edited:

Merv

Site Moderator
Staff member
Here are some of my hotwire bows. They are very simple, cheap and easy to make. Use whatever scraps you have lying around.