Hey im new to the hobby and i need help picking my first rc plane

Death_Storm

I have been flying drones for years now, and my friend has kindred my interest in the rc aircraft hobby. he can help me build the plane but we need help picking my first plane to build and fly. I have never flown an rc plane before so want an easy to fly yet not a verry large plane. I have 2212-2200kv and-2212 1800kv motors, and 5,6,8,10 inch bi and tri blade props 1500 mah battery. Thank you for your help.

TheOldMonk

Go with Scout. That appears to be a popular recommendation.

I would say if you are looking to build, crash, learn & graduate to better looking plane quickly - Start with FT Flyer and 7-10 flights later bring in the Simple Scout.

If you looking for a long term sweet looking plus good trainer - Start with Scout right away. Just do a few online simulator runs prior.

bisco

Elite member
any clubs in your area that can teach you to fly? if not, you may want to put a gyro in whatever you build.

josh does a video on installation and setup

Death_Storm

Go with Scout. That appears to be a popular recommendation.

I would say if you are looking to build, crash, learn & graduate to better looking plane quickly - Start with FT Flyer and 7-10 flights later bring in the Simple Scout.

If you looking for a long term sweet looking plus good trainer - Start with Scout right away. Just do a few online simulator runs prior.
Thank you verry much will look into the scout , and yes i am starting to practice using sims

MacClarkNC

Full size scout is much easier to fly than the mini for me. Between the scout and the tiny trainer, I was able to be self taught, stay away from gradits, just build and try to fly and expect crashes and repairs. It will require 2 different engine/elec setup, but then you have what is needed for other planes

TheOldMonk