In a Sea of prefab Foamies

Mr NCT

Site Moderator
I am on of the last to build and aircraft from scratch.
I can understand why you'd feel that way after visiting some local AMA fields. And building with balsa you're probably one of few. But building with foam board......
Check out the Mad Scratch Builders corner here on the forums. You'll find a bunch of folks here designing and building their own planes - though with a greater need for instant gratification than a balsa builder has. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

quorneng

Master member
If you have the right material you can "build" with foam in just the same way as you can with balsa. It is no quicker to do but if done appropriately it ends up lighter.
A foam built true scale Concord wing.
19Webs.JPG

The finished article with 4x40mm EDFs
Complete.JPG

Just because its made of foam doesn't mean its not been "built".
And It flies.
24Apr14.jpg

Just saying.

ModelManFrank

You must be new here lol
i am still learning how the forum works it is different than the other Forums i belong to. I use Foamboard in some of the balsa builds, like one that i am working called the club cub. Prefab Foamies are the rage and i am not too keen on them i have some used ones but i am learning to live with them. Most of the other aircraft i have are Balsa built.

ModelManFrank

LitterBug

Techno Nut
i did not just come here to promote my videos, i came to learn and read and share some of the beautiful foamboard scratch build with others and show that Building from Plans is not dead like many like to think.
I've acquired a few balsa kits lately, and also have a laser cutter to use for making parts from plans. I will be transitioning over to balsa later this year as I get caught up on my stalled out foamboard builds. I have used the laser cutter to etch foamboard for some of my more recent builds from plans.

Cheers!
LitterBug

IMG_20240229_230006983_HDR.jpg

IMG_20240229_234842211.jpg

Mr NCT

Site Moderator