New member introduction - a bit of an essay!

Hi Guys

I'm fairly new to the hobby. I'm 27 and live in north west England.

I have always been interested in RC stuff and had plenty of cars and a plane (which lasted about 1 flight - the second attempt didn't involve much flying :black_eyed: _ ) when i was a kid.

Anyway after stumbling across the Flitetest EDF afterburner video on youtube and working next to the shop where i bought that first plane all those years ago, my interest was rekindled.

in the past few months i've watched pretty much all of the flitetest videos and in late June i took the plunge and decided to get my first trainer.

WOW! the tech has come on a LONG WAY.

I opted for a ready to fly Ares Taylorcraft 130. a well priced 3 channel plane with the option to upgrade to 4 channel.

after waiting a couple of weeks(!) rewatching the beginner series for the wind to die down i took it out for our maiden flight and preceded to beat the crap out it.

the plane held up really well. the wings and wing braces are held on with magnets so it simply dismantles itself when you crash - a great idea.

after a couple of rough landings i started to get the hang of it and before long i was out flying every time the battery finished charging.

after a couple of weeks flying i ordered the clipped wing set and installed it (very easy to do), then began to teach myself to fly 4 channel.

Moving ahead a couple more weeks; As much as i loved flying the Ares, it was too small and underpowered to fly in anything more than a light breeze - time for a new plane :D

image1 (2).JPG

I'm not sure what the new plane was called but here it is pictured underneath the little Ares. i got it second hand with motor servos and esc already installed from the hobby shop. I also plumped for a DX6i.