People with Disabilities

Fatoa

Hello,
I am reaching of to the Flite Test community for assistance. I am not technical in nature and dont claim to understand how controller work but i have a unique situation where i am retired military and work with some individual that can no longer enjoy the hobby due to combat related injuries and also my son is disabled with on the use of his left arm and not his right arm. I have looked all over the internet for controller that only require one hand and found several posting on youtube of people how have done some extreme modification to controller to make it usable of them during the time of a limited injury. What i have noticed on all these post is the controller are not truly one handed controller. I am looking of something where all you need to have is one good hand. If any one can help please let me know.

jaskoller

I"m sorry, I haven't seen a one handed controller yet. But yes, people are doing a "joystick" mod to make it one handed. There are a few different write ups i have seen on this. I'll try to find one and post it. I do think you will have to do some mods to get this done though.

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor
As a cheap way to get started/back into RC there is a Futuba Skysport 2/3 channel designed with a single stick available for about $30 new.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Futaba-Skysport-SS2-SS3-Single-Stick-Digital-Proportional-Radio-Control-System-/172003679809?hash=item280c37de41:g:aH4AAOSweuxWTX4J

I'm not sure what they mean by 2/3 channel though - can't see the youtube video on my current connection.

I also found this really interesting site about Single Stick radio design and history that's really got me thinking about the benefits of this type of controller.

http://www.singlestickstuff.com/the-history-of-the-single-stick/

For someone crafty and interested in homebrewing one, I found some 3 and 4 axis gimbals too.

http://www.superdroidrobots.com/shop/item.aspx?itemid=1263