Prepping Balsa Prior to Covering

Joker 53150

Mmmmmmm, balsa.
Mentor
A few us are currently building from balsa (not all planes are made from foam!) and one discussion turned to prepping balsa prior to covering it. For the planes I've built and covered I have only sanded the balsa and cleaned off the dust before covering, and have never sealed the wood. Others use various sealing compounds prior to covering.

My covering work has always been satisfactory to me, but it has never been what could be considered silky smooth and perfect. With the thinner covering such as SoLite I can usually see the grain of the wood. This isn't a big deal to me, I'm still relatively new at building and figure the plane will eventually be brought home in a basket anyway, so why spend the extra time? Well, maybe it doesn't take that much extra time or effort, and maybe the results will be worth it.

Time to experiment!

I've got the material on-hand to try three different sealing methods, sanding sealer, glue/water mix, and hair spray. All are various avenues in achieving the same results - locking the wood fibers in place so they can be sanded smooth while providing a very smooth finish to apply the covering to. There are probably dozens of other products to use, but this is what I've heard of and I happen to have the material currently to try all three of them.