Thinking about pre built balsa pnp or ARF planes?

pricelesspp

I am not interested in scratch build or building from a kit please do not talk me in to that side of the hobby I like PNP/ARF/BNF/RxR only.I am a good pilot with my nanos and micro 4 channel planes and i can safely fly and land the Eflite Apprentice and i can fly it confidently fly my planes.

And i am thinking about trying a pre built PNP/ARF balsa and ply plane i got a few questions.

0 Are they worth trying>
1 Do they fly better then foam?
2 Can they handle wind better?
3 Do they look nicer then foam planes?
4 Are they durable?
5 Are these two good first balsa and ply planes?
6 What is the fun factor on these two types of planes?

Great planes Kunai
http://www.greatplanes.com/airplanes/gpma1815.html

Tower Hobbies Vista Brushless ARF 78.5"
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...P?I=LWL173&P=8

Can this receiver and the Anylink 2 work with these two planes?

Tactic TR624 6-Channel SLT Receiver
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXZNR1&P=ML

Tactic AnyLink2 2.4GHz Universal Radio Adapter
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXDZRS&P=ML

Help would be appreciated.Thanks for helping.

mlh122

I'm on my 2nd balsa plane after having a lot of foamies so I'll try to answer your questions.

0 Are they worth trying? - Yes, but to me just about anything is worth trying.

1 Do they fly better then foam? - In my opinion, yes. They seem to be heavier, so they tend to be able to go faster, fight through wind better, more stable in the air, but not as floaty as foamies. But i think it's a weight-to-wing ratio issue. A balsa plane with giant wings like a glider would be very floaty indeed. But planes of identical sizes, I think a foamy would generally be lighter.

2 Can they handle wind better? Yes, I think that really has do to with weight though, a really big foamy with a big motor would handle wind better than a tiny balsa plane.