Tricopter for aerial photography

Shane

I have been flying a RTF micro quad for about 6 months now and I would like to build my own multirotor. I'm not interested in racing quads, so I was thinking about starting to build a platform for aerial photography and video. I'm just looking for any general input from people who have gone before me down this path.

I would like something with carbon fiber weave arms so that I can get more precise with the tuning (i've heard that the wood arms tend to warp/twist slightly making it difficult to dial them in properly). I'm looking at either the Tricopter V3 kit or the the Titan tricopter kit for the frame.

I have not started researching flight control boards, and haven't really started pulling together components yet.

I have a GoPro4 that I'll probably strap to it to begin with and I would eventually like to upgrade to a gimbal. I don't recall seeing many tricopters with gimbal setups. Is that best left to a larger quad or hex?

Hi Shane,

I'm not the most experienced pilot/builder either, but I may can give you some tips as where to start and what to think about.

Carbon has the advantage that it's light, stiff and pretty robust in crashes. But that doesn't mean that wood or aluminium or something like that are bad materials for multirotors. I heard that wood has really good vibration dampening properties, so that you could get away with less precise balanced props and motors. A positive side of wood is that it's easy to get and really easy to work with (wich is a huge plus when you first starting out and wanna build on your own).
I for myself went with a full aluminium frame (self made) and I'm really happy with it. It is not the lightest, but I really like it (and the fact that I built it myself).