Covering curves on tail feathers?

nhk750

Aviation Enthusiast
I'm new to covering so I have a question. I have watched a few videos and some guys will use the stretch and pull method (like used when covering a wingtip) when covering the curves on the flatter tail feathers. Some guys will cut relief cuts around the curves on the tail feathers then iron down. I have used the relief cut method for my tail feathers and it is really easy and worked pretty good. But, if you look close, you can see my relief cuts. If your more than a foot away you cant see them though. If I were building a really scale, perfect work of art, judged model, the cuts may not be acceptable.

My question is, what is the best method for applying the covering on these control surfaces that are curved and not very thick like tail feathers?

See the relief cuts, but came out with no wrinkles and smooth.

IMG_3232.JPG

jsknockoff

Mentor
I almost always just cover the bottom first pulling up while heating, trying to get the covering as far over the curve as possible (minimum of half way). Then do the same on the top trying to overlap between 1/16-1/8". I can usually get a fairly tight radius covered with zero wrinkles this way. The key to it is getting the covering hot enough to conform without melting through.

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor
Wow - I think that looks great. I'm a very happy camper when my curved and covered surfaces look that good. :)

Interested in what some of the more seasoned folks have to share for tips and tricks though...

rrc1962

Is that monocote over foam board? It looks really good to me. I was thinking of trying to cover one with sign vinyl. You can coax it around corners with heat.

rockyboy

Skill Collector
Mentor